Shingeki no Bahamut: Virgin Soul [1-14]

[I know, I know. I’m a bit late to the party here.]
You see, I was initially on the fence about watching this because the first series wasn’t exactly my cup of tea… [not terrible but… didn’t feel worth the time I had put in]. However, I heard a few good things about this [the direct sequel to 2014’s Shingeki no Bahamut: Genesis],  and saw a few clips of Nina and… abruptly changed my mind.
She looked so cute! Gave me a major Usagi Tsukino vibe [which is a good thing by the way]. And the way that the show was dealing with a ten year time skip [a serious and seemingly impossible undertaking from where I stood] ACTUALLY didn’t seem so bad. In fact it seemed kind of… superior to the first season.
[okay I admit, the disco cinderella au ending theme is what sealed the deal. sue me.]

And so… I caved and quickly caught up to the most current episode, “Homecoming“.
We find our heroine, Nina, just having narrowly escaped from an underground Anataen prison with Jeanne d’Arc in tow, returning to her village where the dragonfolk live, and reuniting with her mother. [if only for a short while]
A rather sleepy episode, not too much occurs besides some important conversations and slight character development [so not necessarily a bad thing, an episode like this].

snb5
I had half jokingly hoped that Jeanne and Nina would -ahem- ‘discuss’ the situation between Nina and Charioce [because as much as I was unsure about their potential romance early on, seeing what a gray character Charioce XVII truly is in these last few episodes… I’m honestly in support of seeing this play out completely, good or bad. Plus I can’t really argue with most of his logic, if only he weren’t such a ruthless king.]
So when Nina began to tease Jeanne about the father of El [which honestly… I’M STILL CONFUSED HOW ‘THAT’ EVEN CAME ABOUT], and in turn Jeanne deferred the conversation to be about Nina’s interest in anyone, seeing Nina’s soft little smile as she ponders for a moment and hearing her say in a small voice, ‘yes’. I just about jumped off of my couch because I had Nina pegged entirely wrong.

[Sure, she’s an airhead who constantly misses the point of a lot of things, but when it comes to her own household and herself, Nina is knows what she’s about. It made my estimation of her character rise that much more. I really like this kid.]


Jeanne seems just as surprised as I was, but as Nina continues to untangle her thoughts and begins to worry about admitting to falling in love with someone who she vaguely mentions has questionable [at best] actions and motivations, Jeanne reassures her that if she TRULY loves this person, she’ll seek to understand them and if in the end she still does, then she truly does love them. [Such excellent reasoning, however, I can’t help but wonder if Jeanne would’ve said the same things if she knew that Nina was talking about the same King who imprisoned her and was the reason why Jeanne was cruelly separated from her son in the first place].
All in all a great scene. Hopefully one that doesn’t end up coming between Nina and Jeanne later on if/when Jeanne learns that the person Nina was talking about/confessing to loving is Charioce.

-Other notable things-

Jeanne still feels immense guilt over what she did in the first season relating to the gods, and I suppose I can sympathize with that. Although this show heavily borrows from pagan/greek mythology, as I Christian I could/would never turn against my God or harm followers/children of his and can’t even begin to imagine how sharp that would cut to a devout person. So, seeing Jeanne crying in the arms of Nina’s mother was very hard to watch, hopefully she’ll see/reunite with her son soon and have some of that pain alleviated. [but I wouldn’t bet on it.]

snb2
The village elder being this tiny 2,000 year old lady who can turn into an enormous dragon was ALSO unexpected [I mean THAT painting of THAT dragon all this time was her??? Seriously], and I was very pleased that Nina and Jeanne are already moving on and continuing their journey. Another episode like this would be a complete waste of the remaining, so thankfully SNB has taken a page out of Escaflowne’s book and continues The Plot™ with little to no breaks.

snb1
Looking forward to the next episode later on this week!

★★★★ out of ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

